Supporting Politicians

When the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its ruling in Citizens United v. Federal Elections Commission on January 21st, 2010, many groups and individuals across the Chicago area, as well as the rest of Illinois, began mobilizing to fight that radically antidemocratic decision. The Coalition to Restore Democracy (formerly the Illinois Coalition to Overturn Citizens United) formed as a spontaneous expression of grassroots opposition to Citizens United and other judicial rulings such as the recent McCutcheon v. FEC decision that effectively legalized political bribery, that equate money with First Amendment-protected speech that cannot be regulated.

Many Illinois politicians, State, local, and Federal, have gone on record in support of the Coalition’s efforts to gain a 28th Amendment to the Constitution to overturn Citizens United, related judicial rulings, andto regulate the corrupting power of big money in our nation’s political life.

After Senate passage by a vote of 37-9, the Illinois House of Representatives passed our PRAIRIE (People’s Rights and Integrity Restored in Elections) Resolution on May 31st, 2013 by a vote of 80–37, making Illinois the 14th of 16 states to date that have called for a 28th Amendment.

The Chicago City Council by Unanimous Consent
Illinois Senate:
Pamela J. Althoff (R-32)
Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant (D-49)
Melinda Bush (D-31)
Jacqueline Y. Collins (D-16)
Thomas Cullerton (D-23)
William Delgado (D-2)
Michael W. Freriches (D-52)
Don Harmon (D-39)
Michael E. Hastings (D-19)
Mattie Hunter (D-3)
Mike Jacobs (D-36)
Kimberly A. Lightford (D-4)
Andy Manar (D-48)
Karen McConnaughay (R-33)
Julie A. Morrison (D-29)
Antonio Munoz (D-1)
Kwame Raoul (D-13)
Martin A. Sandoval (D-11)
Steve Stadelman (D-34)
John M. Sullivan (D-47)
Patricia Van Pelt (D-5)
Emil Jones III (D-14)
Daniel Biss (D-9)
James F. Clayborne, Jr. (D-57)
John J. Cullerton (D-6)
Bill Cunningham (D-18)
Gary Forby (D-59)
William R. Haine (D-56)
Napoleon Harris III (D-15)
Linda Holmes (D-42)
Toi W. Hutchinson (D-40)
David Koehler (D-46)
Terry Link (D-30)
Iris Y. Martinez (D-20)
Pat McGuire (D-43)
John G. Mulroe (D-10)
Michael Noland (D-22)
Dale Righter (R-55) (in Committee)
Ira I. Silverstein (D-8)
Heather Steans (D-7)
Donne E. Trotter (D-17)
Illinois House of Representatives:
Edward J. Acevedo (D-2)
Daniel v. Beiser (D-111)
John E. Bradley (D-117)
Kelly Burke (D-36)
Linda Chapa LaVia (D-83)
Deborah Conroy (D-46)
Fred Crespo (D-44)
John D. Amico (D-15)
William Davis (D-30)
Scott Drury (D-58)
Marcus C. Evans, Jr. (D-33)
Sara Feigenholtz (D-12)
Mary E. Flowers (D-31)
Jack D. Franks (D-63)
Esther Golar (D-6)
Josh Harms (R-106)
Greg Harris (D-13)
Jay Hoffman (D-113)
Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr. (D-114)
Thaddeus Jones (D-29)
Lou Lang (D-16)
Michael J. Madigan (D-22)
Robert F. Martwick (D-19)
Rita Mayfield (D-60)
Michael P. McAuliffe (R-20)
Christian L. Mitchell (D-26)
Michelle Mussman (D-56)
Brandon W. Phelps (D-118)
Robert W. Pritchard (D-70)
Robert Rita (D-28)
Jim Sacia (R-89) (Former Member, 98th House)
Sue Scherer (D-96)
Elgie R. Sims, Jr. (D-34)
Derrick Smith (D-10)
Sylvana Tabares (D-21)
Michael W. Tryon (R-66)
Patrick J. Verschoore (D-72)
Emanuel Chris Welch (D-76)
Ann Williams (D-11)
Sam Yingling (D-62)
Luis Arroyo (D-3)
Maria Antonia Berrios (D-39)
Daniel J. Burke (D-1)
Kelly M. Cassidy (D-14)
Katherine Cloonen (D-79)
Jerry F. Costello II (D-117)
Barbara Flynn Currie (D-25)
Monique D. Davis (D-27)
Anthony DeLuca (D-80)
Kenneth Dunkin (D-5)
Keith Farnham (D-43)
Laura Fine (D-17)
LaShawn K. Ford (D-8)
Robyn Gabel (D-18)
Jehan E. Gordon-Booth (D-92)
David Harris (R-53)
Elizabeth Hernandez (D-24)
Frances N. Hurley (D-35)
Naomi D. Jacobsson (D-103)
Charles E. Jefferson (D-67) (Former Member, 98th House)
Stephanie A. Kifowit (D-84)
Camille Y. Lilly (D-78)
Natalie A. Manley (D-98)
Frank J. Mautino (D-76)
Emily McAsey (D-85)
Deboral Mell (D-40) (Former Member, 98th House)
Martin J. Moylan (D-55)
Elaine Nekritz (D-57)
Sandra M. Pihos (R-48)
Al Riley (D-38)
Pam Roth (R-75, Former Member 98th House)
Carol A. Sente (D-79)
Mike Smiddy (D-71)
Cynthia Soto (D-4)
Andre M. Thapedi (D-32)
Arthur Turner (D-9)
Lawrence M. Walsh, Jr. (D-86)
Barbara Wheeler (R-64)
Kathleen Willis (D-77)
These Illinois members of the U.S. House of Representatives have officially endorsed one or more of the resolutions calling for a 28th Amendment to the Constitution to overturn Citizens United and to establish that money donated and spent to influence elections can be regulated by the Congress and the states:
Representative Bobby Rush [D – IL 1]
Representative Luis Gutierrez [D – IL 4]
Representative Tammy Duckworth [D – IL 8]
Representative Brad Schneider [D – IL 10]
Representative William Enyart [D – IL 12]
Representative Robin L. Kelly [D – IL 2]
Representative Mike Quigley [D – IL 5]
Representative Jan Schakowsky [D-IL 9]
Representative Bill Foster [D – IL 11]
Representative Cheri Bustos [D – IL 17]